HomeTHE SING-OFF Season 3 Winners Pentatonix Release Debut EP "PTX VOLUME 1" Tuesday, June 26th

From The Web's picture

LOS ANGELES, June 26, 2012 /PRNewswire via COMTEX/ -- Pentatonix, the season 3 winners of the NBC a cappella singing competition series, THE SING-OFF, will release their debut EP, "PTX VOLUME 1," today on Madison Gate Records via iTunes. Described by Rollingstone.com to possess an "impossibly full sound," the five-member band, named for the world's most widely recognized five-note musical scale, is comprised of lead vocalists Mitch Grassi, Scott Hoying and Kirstie Maldonado with vocal bass by Avi Kaplan and beatboxer Kevin Olusola, each who arrange all their own music using only their vocals as instruments. Pentatonix burst onto the scene last fall by entering the a cappella singing competition series, THE SING-OFF. It was their modern approach, drawing influences from several eclectic musical genres, including dubstep and electronica, which set them apart from the rest, eventually crowning them champions. Their debut EP includes unique a cappella covers of some of pop music's biggest hits like "Starships" (Nicki Minaj) and "Love You Long Time" (Jazmine Sullivan) as well as two original tracks "The Baddest Girl" and "Show You How To Love." "This EP features a wide collection of music that we feel demonstrates the unique sound we create together," said Scott of Pentatonix. "Our experience on THE SING-OFF helped us discover what we are capable of as a group and this EP illustrates our growth since we first came together just one year ago for the show."

Read the rest